Citizen of the Year Awards – Nominate Ballots Now Available

Citizen of the Year Awards – Nominate Someone!

MCOC Citizen of the Year Ballot 2018

2018 Mashpee Citizen of the Year Awards


The Mashpee Chamber of Commerce will present its “Citizen of the Year” Awards at the annual dinner, to be held May 24th.

Awards for this year will be presented in three categories:

Citizen of the Year ~

This award is given to a business member of the Chamber whose leadership, performance and influence have enhanced the growth of business in Mashpee.  This is also an individual who is involved in significant volunteerism in the community.

This will be the 24th year that we have bestowed the Citizen of the Year Award.  Past recipients have been;  Ellie Hatcher (1993), Doris Dottridge (1994), Janice Walford (1995), Joanne Ferragamo (1996),  Samuel Myerson (1997), James Vaccaro (1998), Mary LeClair (1999), Melinda Gallant (2000), Janice Mills (2001), Dino Mitrokostas (2002), Ann Macdonald-Dailey (2003), Kevin Shackett (2004), Linda Steele (2005), Heidi Trottier (2006), Jim Kiley (2007), Buff Chase (2008), Roche Brothers (2009), Michael Forde (2010), Theresa Cook (2011), Robert Weeks (2012), Frank Flanagan (2013), Thomas O’Neill (2014) and Bobby Byrne (2015), Mark Lawrence (2016), Ron Bonvie (2017).

Distinguished Service Award ~

This award is given to a local person, in business or not, who deserves recognition for a significant contribution of time, energy and knowledge that has enhanced the Mashpee community.

Community Commitment Award ~

This award is given to an organization that has made a substantial contribution through their support of activities and events in the Mashpee community.


Award decisions are made by a committee which includes town leaders, Chamber board members, and past award winners.  The committee’s choices are based not only on the number of ballots cast but on the strength of the reasoning given by the voters as determined by the committee.

Winners in each category will be announced by April 13th.  Ballots will be available through April 10th at four locations around town; the Mashpee Chamber office, Cape Cod 5, the Mashpee Senior Center, and Mashpee Town Hall.

Please help us determine this year’s most deserving candidates.  Your input is essential!

MCOC Citizen of the Year Ballot 2018

Author: Mashpee Chamber of Commerce

Share This Post On